Back To All Schools

Erie Community College

Address

North Campus, 6205 Main Street Williamsville, New York 14221-7095

Ophthalmic Dispensers (opticians) are licensed professionals who dispense eyeglasses and/or contact lenses to the public from prescriptions written by eye doctors. With the increase in the nation’s population and the aging of the baby boomer generation, the demand for ophthalmic dispensing services and a trained corps of ophthalmic professionals has risen. This demand exists in private practice, health maintenance organizations, nationwide chain store operations, professional eyecare offices, and in other areas including ophthalmic sales, supply and laboratories. The program’s objectives are to provide the necessary theoretical and practical training to enable students to pass New York State licensing exams and to meet National Certification criteria. Classrom lecture and laboratory training involves the careful selection, measuring and fitting of eyewear and lenses unique to each patient. Laboratory skills also include the actual fabrication of eyewear. In the contact lens laboratory, ophthalmic instruments and evaluation techniques are used to design, evaluate and dispense contact lenses. To complement classroom and laboratory training, students participate in various externship opportunities and practice ophthalmic dispensing skills during off campus clinical hours at the Community Community Eye Clinic.

A.A.S Ophthalmic Dispensing

Program Director: John Godert
Office Phone: 716-851-1570
Email: godert@ecc.edu

Additional Staff Members

Janet Acara 716-270-5120 acara@ecc.edu
John Braun 716-270-2642 braunj@ecc.edu
Matthew Sendker 716-270-4619 sendker@ecc.edu
Ann Jordan 716-270-4619 jordanam@ecc.edu
John Lipani 716-851-1570 lipanij@ecc.edu
Kathryn Pollutro 716-270-5121 pollutrok@ecc.edu